ASVCP Young Investigator Award Winners



  • Daniel Heinrich, University of Minnesota
  • Kristina Meichner, North Carolina State University


  • Dr. Mandy J. Meindel, Kansas State University – Enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay to measure serum ferritin in toucans (Ramphastidae sp.)

  • Dr. Lauren B. Radakovich, Colorado State University – Reticulocyte hemoglobin content (CHR) does not differentiate true from functional iron deficiency in dogs


  • Jessica Hokamp, Texas A&M - Evaluation of NGAL and RBP as tubular damage biomarkers in naturally occurring canine chronic kidney disease
  • Andrew Burton, UC Davis - Comparison of flow cytometry and canine glycophorin A ELISA for detection of microparticles in stored canine blood


  • Basic and Translational Research: Erica J. Gruber, Cornell University, "Tissue factor mediates thrombin generation in canine cancer cells."
  • Applied Clinical Research: Jennifer R. Cook, Texas A&M University, "Relationships between cerebrospinal fluid characteristics, injury severity, and outcome in canine spinal cord diseases."


  • Basic science: Helen T. Michael, "Isolation and characterization of canine natural killer cells"
  • Clinical research: Charlotte Hollinger, "Hematologic findings predictive of myelofibrosis in dogs"


  • Dr. Jennifer Brown, Texas A&M University, won in the basic research category for her presentation "Comparison of Urine Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate-Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis (SDS-PAGE) with Renal Histological Findings and Clinicopathologic Data in Dogs with Renal Disease."
  • Dr. Martina Piviani, University of Pennsylvania, won in the applied research category for her presentation "Significance of Mastocythemia in Cats."