Quality Assurance and Standards
Share |

 

Quality Assurance and Laboratory Standards Committee

The Quality Assurance and Laboratory Standards (QALS) Committee is concerned with quality assurance (QA) and quality control (QC) in veterinary laboratory diagnostic testing. Committee members include board-certified veterinary clinical pathologists, medical technologists, and clinical pathology residents. The committee develops quality assurance guidelines with recommendations and checklists to promote and enhance QA/QC within laboratories performing diagnostic testing of animal samples. Our efforts have resulted in development of guidelines for the ASVCP that are freely available via the ASVCP website and as Special Reports in the journal Veterinary Clinical Pathology.  The committee also has an advisory role for the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) and the Academy of Veterinary Clinical Pathology Technicians (AVCPT). As for the other ASVCP committees, QALS periodically organizes pre-meeting workshops on quality assurance and standards at the annual ASVCP/ACVP meeting.

2017-2018 QALS Committee Members

Jill Arnold

jarnold@aqua.org

Melinda Camus (immediate past chair and member ex-officio)

mscamus@uga.edu

Jennifer Cook (chair)

jennifer-cook@idexx.com

Sharon Dial (EB Liaison)

sdial@email.arizona.edu

Kathy Freeman

kathyfreeman01@gmail.com

Luca Giori

lgiori@utk.edu

Emma Hooijberg

emma.hooijberg@up.ac.za

Unity Jeffery

unityjeffery@gmail.com

Jérémie Korchia

jeremie.korchia@yahoo.fr

Mandy Meindel

mandy.meindel@covance.com

Russell Moore

AR.Moore@colostate.edu

Roberta Moorhead

moorhead@stanford.edu

Eric Morissette

ericmorissette@live.com

Sandra Sisson

sct26@cornell.edu

Balazs Szladovits

bszladovits@rvc.ac.uk

Linda Vap

linda.vap@colostate.edu

  

Survey Results

March 2017 Summary of Survey on Use of the ASVCP Quality Assurance and Standard Guidelines

 

Guidelines & Subcommittee activities

Posted and published

  • Quality Assurance Guidelines (available in English, German, Spanish, French and Portuguese)
    • Flatland B, Freeman K, Friedrichs KR, Vap LM, Getzy KM, Evans EW, Harr KE. ASVCP quality asurance guidelines: control of general analytical factors in veterinary laboratories. Vet Clin Pathol 2010;39(3):264-77.
    • Gunn-Christie RG, Freeman K, Routsalo K, Friedrichs KR, Knoll J, Wamsley H, Harr K. ASVCP quality assurance guidelines: control of preanalytical and analytical factors for clinical chemistry, urinalysis, and cytology in veterinary laboratories. Vet Clin Pathol 2012;41(1):18-26.
    • Vap LM, Harr K, Friedrichs KR, Arnold J. ASVCP quality assurance guidelines: control of preanalytical, analytical and postanalytical factors in veterinary laboratories related to hematology for mammalian and non-mammalian species, hemostasis, and crossmatching. Vet Clin Pathol 2012;41(1):8-17.

 

 

  • Reference Interval Guidelines (RI subcommittee)
    • Friedrichs KR, Harr KE, Freeman KP, Szladovits B, Walton RM, Barnhart K, Blanco-Chavez J. ASVCP reference interval guidelines: determination of de novo reference intervals in veterinary species and other related topics. Vet Clin Pathol 2012;41(4):441-53.

 

 

 

  • Nabity MB, Harr KE, Camus MS, Flatland B, Vap LM. ASVCP guidelines: Allowable total error hematology. Vet Clin Pathol 2018;47(1):9-21.

 

Drafts in progress

  • ASVCP General Quality Assurance Guidelines

 

 

American Society For Veterinary Clinical Pathology
2424 American Lane
Madison, WI 53704


Telephone: +1-608-443-2479
Fax: +1-608-443-2474

Connect With Us
Public Page Members-Only