Share the Future Research Grant
Share |

ASVCP Share the Future Research Grants

Share the Future Research Grants are made possible through the support of ASVCP members and corporate sponsors. These grants are intended to help support research by clinical pathology residents and graduate students. Grant recipients are chosen based on the quality of the research proposal and the potential for contributing to the knowledge base of veterinary clinical pathology, among other criteria. Research grants of up to $2500 have been awarded annually since 2008.



Share the Future Research Grant recipients:
  • 2019: Priscilla Serpa, Purdue University
    Validation of a flow cytometry-based cell and differential counts in chickens
  • 2018: Samantha Evans, Colorado State University (advisor: Kelly Santangelo)
    Efficacy of fountain flow cytometry for rapid detection of sepsis in fluids
  • 2017: Megan Caudill from the University of Georgia (advisor: Bridget Garner) for proposal titled "Comparison of Serum vs. EDTA-Plasma in Canine Crossmatch Reactions"
  • 2016: Angela Gwynn from the University of Minnesota (advisor: Leslie Sharkey) for proposal titled "Clinical Utility of Coagulation Testing in Cats"
  • 2015: Daniela Hernandez Muguiro from Cornell University (advisor: Erica Behling-Kelly) for proposal titled "Flow cytometric measure of phosphorylated histones as a novel, more sensitive, means to determine mitotic in canine tumor cells"
  • 2014: Midori Asakawa from Cornell University (advisor: Erica Behling-Kelly) for proposal titled "Lipoprotein modulation of fibrinolysis in the dog"
  • 2013: Amy Weeden from the University of Florida (advisor: Heather Wamsley) for proposal entitled "Prevalence of Bartonella in Canine Effusions"
  • 2012: Nancy Collicutt from the University of Georgia (advisor: Bridget C. Garner) for proposal entitled "The effect of delayed serum separation and storage temperature on the rate of in vitro glucose metabolism in samples from healthy dogs, horses, alpacas, and sturgeon"
  • 2011: Kelly Santangelo from The Ohio State University (advisor: Judy Radin) for proposal entitled "Validation of formulae to correct for serum sodium values measured by indirect potentiometry"
  • 2010: Nora Springer from Cornell University (advisor: Tracy Stokol) for proposal entitled “Procoagulant activity in horses: Measurement of platelet-derived microparticles and endogenous thrombin potential”
  • 2009: Amir Kol from the University of California, Davis (advisor: Dori Borjesson) for proposal entitled "Investigation of hypercoaguability and thrombosis in dogs with multicentric lymphoma"
  • 2008: Erica Behling-Kelly from University of Wisconsin (advisor: Karen Young) for proposal entitled "Macrophages derived from sites of granulomatous inflammation and histiocytic tumors in dogs: identification of cellular junctions 

American Society For Veterinary Clinical Pathology
2424 American Lane
Madison, WI 53704

Telephone: +1-608-443-2479
Fax: +1-608-443-2474

Connect With Us
Public Page Members-Only