Young Investigator Award
Share |

ASVCP Young Investigator Awards 

The ASVCP Young Investigator Award recognizes and awards outstanding oral presentations given by residents or graduate students in the field of veterinary clinical pathology.

Eligibility: Candidates must have a degree in veterinary medicine and be enrolled in a residency or graduate program in veterinary clinical pathology or a related discipline. The oral presentation must be given by the candidate during the ASVCP Clinical Pathology Focused Scientific Session at the ACVP/ASVCP Annual Meeting and must describe original work of the competitor that involves either: 1) clinical case reports or applied or translational research, or 2) basic research relating to clinical pathology.

Award Categories: Two awards will be given. One award will be given to the best oral presentation involving applied or translational research or case reviews that provide new knowledge in the field of veterinary clinical pathology. One award will be given to the best oral presentation involving basic research that provides new knowledge in the field of veterinary clinical pathology. The award category can be requested by the student, but final assignment of the category will be determined by the chair of Focused Scientific Group and the immediate Past President of the ASVCP. The student will be notified of the final category assignment prior to the meeting.

Award Selection: Award selection will be based on scientific content, abstract composition, clarity of presentation, and the ability to answer questions. Each resident or graduate student may submit only one presentation for this competition. Candidates awarded YIA the preceding year will not be eligible for an award in the subsequent year. The winner of each category will receive a $500 check from the ASVCP.

Judges: Three judges from the ASVCP membership will be identified by the immediate Past President of ASVCP. Judges will deliberate after the second ASVCP Clinical Pathology Focused Scientific Session and provide the names of the winners in each category to the immediate Past President.

Announcement of Awards: Awards will be announced at the beginning of the Case Review Session at the ASVCP/ACVP Annual Meeting by the immediate Past President or Executive Board designee. The immediate Past President or Executive Board designee will hand the check to the awardees and a photo session will follow. Winners will be notified that they should be present at this session to accept the award.

To be considered for this award, please submit your abstract online at the ACVP website and follow instructions for award consideration. The deadline for 2020 abstract submissions is July 15, 2020. 



ASVCP Young Investigator Award recipients:


  • Dr. Candice Chu, Texas A&M University
    Urinary microRNA profiling in dogs with chronic kidney disease caused by glomerular diseases
  • Dr. Amy DiDomenico, North Carolina State University
    Validation of the cellavision DM96 for manual reticulocyte enumeration


  • Dr. Jose Daniel Cruz Otero, Cornell University
    The role of high-density lipoproteins (HDL) in modulating neutrophil activation during the transition period in cows

  • Dr. Robert Harris, Colorado State University
    Validation of the use of densitometric quantitation for measurement of serum M-protein concentration in the dog


  • Dr. Candice Chu, Texas A&M University
    Comparison of methods for preparation of biofluids in dogs for small RNA sequencing

  • Dr. Cynthia Lucidi, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Increased IGG and phosphatidylserine on marrow erythroid precursors of dogs with precursor-targeted immune-mediated anemia and on blood RBCS of dogs with immune-mediated hemolytic anemia


  • Dr. Pierre Deshuillers, Purdue University
    Feline mature erythrocyte mirnome: insights into the red blood cell biology
  • Dr. Katherine Irvine, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Validation of two point-of-care meters for measuring triglyceride concentrations in chicken whole blood and plasma


  • Dr. Daniel Heinrich, University of Minnesota
    Evaluation of the cell block method in the diagnosis of canine peripheral lymphadenopathy and the immunophenotyping of canine lymphoma.
  • Dr. Kristina Meichner, North Carolina State University
    Apoptosis-regulating proteins Bcl-2 and Bax in canine lymphoma


  • Dr. Mandy J. Meindel, Kansas State University
    Enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay to measure serum ferritin in toucans (Ramphastidae sp.)
  • Dr. Lauren B. Radakovich, Colorado State University
    Reticulocyte hemoglobin content (CHR) does not differentiate true from functional iron deficiency in dogs


  • Dr. Jessica Hokamp, Texas A&M University
    Evaluation of NGAL and RBP as tubular damage biomarkers in naturally occurring canine chronic kidney disease
  • Dr. Andrew Burton, University of California-Davis
    Comparison of flow cytometry and canine glycophorin A ELISA for detection of microparticles in stored canine blood


  • Dr. Erica J. Gruber, Cornell University
    Tissue factor mediates thrombin generation in canine cancer cells
  • Dr. Jennifer R. Cook, Texas A&M University
    Relationships between cerebrospinal fluid characteristics, injury severity, and outcome in canine spinal cord diseases


  • Dr. Helen T. Michael, University of Minnesota
    Isolation and characterization of canine natural killer cells
  • Dr. Charlotte Hollinger, Michigan State University
    Hematologic findings predictive of myelofibrosis in dogs


  • Dr. Jennifer Brown, Texas A&M University
    Comparison of urine sodium dodecyl sulfate-polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (SDS-PAGE) with renal histological findings and clinicopathologic data in dogs with renal disease
  • Dr. Martina Piviani, University of Pennsylvania
    Significance of mastocythemia in cats

American Society For Veterinary Clinical Pathology
2424 American Lane
Madison, WI 53704

Telephone: +1-608-443-2479
Fax: +1-608-443-2474

Connect With Us
Public Page Members-Only